Mahakal Arms

Why Damdami Taksal was Establish ?

                                                  The tenth King Sri Guru Gobind Singh Sahib Ji was at Sri Anandpur Sahib delivering His Sikhs to Sachkhand. A Gursikh who would complete his daily prayer of the Panj Granthi (a collection of prayers from Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji) with love and respect made a mistake. The Gursikh was made to realise that Gurbani is an ang (limb) of Guru Ji, and making a mistake while reciting Gurbani is like hurting Guru Ji. Following this Pyare Bhai Daya Singh, along with other respected Gursikhs requested the following to Guru Ji. "Oh keeper of the poor! Bless us with the understanding of Gurbani. Without an understanding we don't whether what we do is correct or incorrect."


Satguru Ji would never return the request of a Gursikh. After all the battles where He sacrificed all His family. Upon leaving Muktsar Sahib and arriving at Sabo ki Talwandi. Guru Ji gave the following command to his Gursikhs. "Go to Dhir Mal (he was the elder brother of Sri Guru Har Rai Sahib Ji and grandson to Sri Guru Hargobind Sahib Ji) who is at Kartarpur Sahib.

The fifth King Sri Guru Arjan Dev Sahib Ji who has compiled the Aad Granth has left room for the inclusion of the ninth Kings Bani. I will do that and bless you with the understanding of Gurbani." Shaheed Baba Deep Singh Ji along with 24 other Singhs were turned away by Dhir Mal with the following message. "If your Guru is the same roop (form) as the first and fifth Kings, then why doesn't he fashion Gurbani from memory?"

Guru Ji answered this taunt of Dhir Mal in the following way. The true King Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji gave a great honour to Guru ki Kanshi, Takhat Sri Damdama Sahib, Sabo ki Talwandi. Shaheed Bhai Mani Singh was the scribe as Guru Sahib Ji compiled Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji from his sacred tongue. There were such great blessings that Jap(u) Ji Sahib, Rehraas Sahib and Kirtan Sohila were written on the first morning. On that evening the Gursikh Sangat listened to the meanings of the completed Gurbani. The understanding of the Gurbani that was written at amrit vela (ambrosial hours of the morning) would be explained in the evening to the 48 Singhs and the rest of the Gursikh Sangat. Shaheed Baba Deep Singh Ji with firm faith would complete the seva of providing the paper, pens and ink. In this way within 9 months and 9 days, on the full moon of Katak, Samat 1762, till until 1763 Bikrami 23 Savan, the understanding of Gurbani was taught. With the inclusion of the ninth Kings Bani, from Ik Oa(n)kaar to At(h)arah Das Bees, Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji was completed. A great benevolence was done to the world.

After seeing and listening to this limitless, powerful knowledge, the Gursikh Sangat as well the atheists were astonished. By listening to Guru Sahib Ji, the Gursikh Sangat were given the opportunity to rectify their lives. The 48 Singhs gained Brahm Gianta (the knowledge of God) and were liberated while living. The Singhs reached such spiritual states that they lost all care of the world. Seeing this Satguru Ji ordered Shaheed Bhai Mani Singh Ji not to lose care, but to continue in selfless service teaching others what he had learnt. Guru Ji said that he would not forget a thing even if he were to get cut piece by piece. Shaheed Baba Deep Singh Ji was also given this command and was told that he wouldn't forget a thing even if his head were separated from his body.

Both Shaheed Bhai Mani Singh Ji and Baba Deep Singh Ji stayed with Guru Sahib Ji (when They went to Takhat Sachkhand Sri Hazoor Sahib) teaching the understanding of Gurbani to other Gursikhs. Just before Guru Ji ascended to Sachkhand He sent Shaheed Bhai Mani Singh JI to Sri Darbar Sahib Amritsar, and Shaheed Baba Deep Singh Ji to Takhat Sri Damdama Sahib to continue teaching the understanding of Gurbani. Damdami Taksal has been operating under the leadership of Brahm Gianis until now, and will forever more.

                                      Names of the 48 Singhs:    

  1. Bhai Mani Singh Ji
  2. Giani Kaan Singh Ji
  3. Giani Binod Singh Ji
  4. Giani Gurbaksh Sinshad
  5. Baba Deep Singh Ji
  6. Bhai Gurbaksh Singh Ji
  7. Giani Dan Singh Ji
  8. Bhai Param Singh Ji
  9. Bhai Dharam Singh Ji
  10. Bhai Shameer Singh Ji
  11. Bhai Daya Singh Ji
  12. Bhai Bhevan Singh Ji
  13. Bhai Piara Singh Ji
  14. Bhai Bir Singh Ji
  15. Bhai Dheer Singh Ji
  16. Bhai Sundar Singh Ji
  17. Bhai Amar Singh Ji
  18. Bhai Tara Singh Ji
  19. Bhai Jagjeevan Singh Ji
  20. Bhai Gopal Singh Ji
  21. Bhai Dhian Singh Ji
  22. Bhai Binshvar Singh Ji
  23. Bhai Hargopal Singh Ji
  24. Bhai Dhanna Singh Ji Kaviraj
  25. Bhai Nand Singh Ji
  26. Bhai Mani Singh Ji
  27. Bhai Rai Singh Ji
  28. Bhai Makhan Singh Ji
  29. Bhai Madan Singh Ji
  30. Bhai Dharam Singh Ji
  31. Bhai Sujan Singh Ji
  32. Bhai Jeevan Singh Ji
  33. Bhai Akal Singh Ji
  34. Bhai Pritpal Singh Ji
  35. Bhai Dyal Singh Ji
  36. Bhai Bakhtavar Singh Ji Sodhi
  37. Bhai Deva Singh Ji
  38. Bhai Meva Singh Ji
  39. Bhai Dhian Singh Ji
  40. Bhai Achal Singh Ji
  41. Bhai Jai Singh Ji
  42. Bhai Bishan Singh Ji
  43. Bhai Bhag Singh Ji
  44. Bhai Vasava Singh Ji
  45. Bhai Ghanea Singh Ji
  46. Bhai Ram Singh Ji
  47. Bhai Trilok Singh Ji
  48. Bhai Maliagar Singh Ji